Posted by: Amber @ NotMommy | June 11, 2011

Ombre Obsession

Ever since this post on Broke Ass Bride I’ve been OBSESSED with “ombre”.  I had always adored Gwen Stefani’s dip dyed wedding dress, I just didn’t know what the technical term was called.

When Peter and I started planning our [ill-fated] wedding I lusted over the gradient colored cakes.  Then I realized there was a whole hair trend devoted to the style.  That’s it…I need that hair!  So in July (damn long time for an appointment stupid popular stylist, who I adore!) I will go to my salon and ask for this:

It’s basically saturated blond on the very end with highlights “painted” up to blend it in with your natural color and around your face if you desire more light right up front, which I do – see 2nd picture from the right.  I’ve actually toyed with the idea of doing pink tips instead of blond and maybe I’ll do that in the future, but for now I’ll stick with the blond.

Oh, and if Peter and I ever do make it to “the alter” in a bigger production than City Hall…I definitely want this cake!

Responses

  1. My hair used to get like this in the summer as a teen as I never dyed or cut it. Should have kept it!

    • OOOOH I’m jealous! I’ve always had really dark hair naturally…and only slight red highlights would peak out if I stayed in the sun all summer. Of course I “fixed” all that with dye and bleach :P


Comments Make Me Smile

Categories

