Posted by: Amber @ NotMommy | May 6, 2011

Non Scale Victories

I’ve been thinking a lot about my scale, about how it’s not moving and how frustrated I’ve become with my diet game.  I’m supposed to lose 1% of my body weight each week to get the full points.  I haven’t done that in 2 weeks now…though the first week I thought it was due to PMS bloating.  Then I got my period and the scale STILL hasn’t moved.

People have mentioned that I might just be building muscle.  I’ve been working out like crazy (maybe a little to hard honestly) but I just didn’t pay attention to the amount of muscle work is involved in Spin classes.  Running has always made me drop weight crazy fast, but I’ve never really done any bike work before.  At my last class I tried to stay focused on what my body was feeling, and my goodness…yes it’s a ton of muscle involvement.

I know my jeans have been fitting looser, but I’ve chalked that up to them just stretching out between washes.  Then I tried on an old pair of “skinny” pants and they almost fit.  Pants that I wore with ease before my pregnancy.  SCORE!  I also went shopping for new tee’s last week and bought mediums instead of large.  SCORE!  Just last night I went shopping for some dressier outfits and bought a dress, it was a size smaller than the last dress I bought.  SCORE!  I’m actually just 2 sizes away from the “thin” version of myself.

So I guess my friends were right, I’m building up muscle (which takes up less space than fat) so I’m not seeing a difference on the scale, but the difference is in my closet.  That said, I still need to lose some poundage.  I gained about 40 with my pregnancy and I’m still 15lbs from my pre-baby weight.

We have a little over a week left with this game (one I’m losing badly, but that’s ok…sorta).  I’m going to try to end with a positive spin on things.  Then I’m taking a week off just because!  I won’t go crazy with junk foods, I just don’t want to be on a diet for a week.  I’ll still work out because I’m actually starting to like it and don’t want to lose momentum.  Once my break is over I want to give the 6-Day Body Makeover a try.  I already have the book, and maybe with the that set of instructions I’ll get over my hump.  In the end I will continue on with my Weight Watchers program so I can log my foods and hopefully get back to the old me by summer’s end.

Responses

  1. Yay for you! That last bit of weight is always the hardest to move and it seems like your size is changing (even if the dreaded scales aren’t). I’m about 7 pounds off my pre-pregnancy weight but I was already overweight when I got pregnant so I’m about 40 pounds off my thin weight. I’m going to wait and see if breastfeeding will do it’s magic and do the hard work for me for the second time!

    • Thanks! I was about 10-15 off my really thing weight when I got pregnant, but I don’t want to think about that number YET ;D
      I actually looked pretty damn good when I was 8 weeks pregnant so I’m shooting for that :-)

  2. Hooray!! I’m so proud of you for working so hard on taking care of yourself. You deserve it, lady!!!

    • Thanks!!! It’s hard freakin’ work! Why in the world can’t we all just be perfect? LOL


Comments Make Me Smile

Categories

