Posted by: Amber @ NotMommy | August 25, 2010

Want It Wednesday – Master Bedroom Makeover

Our master bedroom is a sad sad sight.  It’s become the dumping grounds for just about everything in the house.  Stuff that needs to be sold, toys that Alexa isn’t old enough for, donations, random crap yet to find it’s way up to the attic.  Yeah, it’s sooooo romantic in there.  Isn’t that what you’re supposed to feel when you walk into your bedroom?  Or, well, at least a feeling of calm and tranquility.  Yeah, we’ve got none of that.

Since Alexa was born we haven’t spent much “quality time” in there **wink wink** You all know our sleeping arrangement, which doesn’t lend itself to putting much effort into making our own bedroom feel good.  It’s wearing on me.  I hate being in there.  We swore to each other, that once Alexa was out of our bed…and done puking on it…we would get new fancy bedding.  Months and months later, that’s still yet to be done.  There’s only so much furniture arrangement a person can do before they thrown in the towel and admit defeat.  The room needs a makeover, and bad!  There’s no personality, no color, no nothin’.

If you know me, you know I LOVE bright colors.  While I want this room to be relaxing rather than energizing, I still want to have some pops of color on a neutral backdrop.  We have some lovely “greige” paint to go over the horrid autumn chocolate brown (too much red, I’m not really a warm color person).  All we have to do is paint the walls.  Why oh why are we dragging ass on this?

Sooooo, this Fall there will be a makeover.  I’ve started a running list of different things I’d like to see in our new bedroom, hopefully a room we can learn to be a couple in again.  I want a retreat, a room I feel proud to photograph for once :-)

Here’s a few of the basic items I want to start with before we decide on on accent pieces/colors.

I adore these curtains.  Super girly without the bubblegum.  Ruffles Ruffles Ruffles!  I’m not sure if Peter would drool over them like I do, but I know he’ll be ok with them because they make me all kinds of happy.  I’ve had this link saved for ages.  I MUST have them.  There’s a white version as well, which color to buy all depends on how dark the room feels after it’s repainted.

I’ve wanted a bench at the end of my bed for as long as I can remember.  When I was little I thought it was oh so “grown up” to have a bench to sit at while you’re getting dressed in the morning.  It’s also great to add a piece of furniture to any room that is beautiful but also has hidden storage.  This one is so fun!  It sparkles people!  Yeah, I’m still a kid at heart, but I can’t help it.

I think mirrored furniture is beautiful in small doses.  A reflective nightstand just seems interesting.

Having 2 similarly colored nightstands would be a good compromise Since Peter isn’t a fan of mirrored tables. He can have something a bit more chemistry lab inspired,  for his nerd-like sensibilities.

We still need to pick out bedding and accessories, oh…and a BED! Yeah, ours is just on the stock metal frame BORING! I at least want a headboard so it doesn’t look like out mattress is floating in the middle of the room. But, this is a start…a very good start indeed.

Responses

  1. I am so there with you on the bedroom makeover. We are slowly starting to show our babygirl the door (she’s been in our bed since she was born) and we did finally paint the walls and buy a new, not-saggy-or-crappy mattress. But now we need to accessorize, and pull it all together, and stop throwing dirty laundry in the corner of the bedroom…sigh!

  2. Love it all. The ruffles are amazingly romantic and I’d do that myself, if my hubby wouldn’t divorce me for that. lol!
    I can’t wait to see AFTER pics…. put them up when u are done-

  3. hey,
    incidentally a mirrored piece of furniture has been on my mind recently, too. i suspected [hoped ;)] that it might be less tacky and more fantastic so long as it’s not furniture for the whole house, and what do you know? you agree :)
    please, pictures of the process and finished room!

    have a good week,
    christine


Comments Make Me Smile

Categories

