Posted by: Amber @ NotMommy | August 18, 2010

Prioritizing

I don’t know if any of you have noticed, heh, but I haven’t been keeping up with my reading and tweeting.  I’m usually much more active online than I have been in the last few weeks.  I’m not sure if this is the sign of things to come, but I’m trying to make adjustments if life doesn’t slow down.

Alexa has been keeping me very very very very busy.  Teething, mixed with nap fuck, ups mixed with being away from the house too much has left me with very little free alone time.  My job search has also eating up a lot of time.  Instead of reading about all of my wonderful friends’ lives, I’m off trying to find a place of employment that will have me.

Long story short, I’ve been culling my lists and sorting the shit of what’s staying.  When I look at my Google Reader and it tells me there’s 500 unread posts I get a little panicky.  When I log onto TweetDeck and there are just columns and columns of updates to catch up on, I want to delete it all because I’m 12 hours behind and look like a freak when I reply to something you posted at 8am this morning ;D

Point being, if I miss something you think I should have been excited about…please please please tell me.  If I don’t comment as much as I used to, please forgive me.  I’m reading as much as I can even if I’m not chiming in my lovelies.

Responses

  1. Real life gets in the way of fun stuff like reading peoples blogs and tweets, but your real is more important. So no worries, folks will reach out if they need your ear. Good Luck with the job hunt!

    • Thanks! Sometimes I forget that most people aren’t really sitting around waiting for me to comment :P They all see me too much on Twitter anyway! Now…thanks for reminding me, must look at more job sites tonight.

  2. i know how you feel! mostly because of my etsy shop keeping me SOOO busy recently (which is a fantastic thing, of course!) i’ve had very little time for reading blogs & i definitely “miss” my online pals. but sometimes life just gets in the way! but of course, i will always make time for you and alexa. ;D love you guys! xoxo.

    • I’ve noticed you’re been sorta MIA, but I totally understand! I’m so proud of you missy <3 I'm here for you too…always and forever my love!

  3. This is why I stopped reading blogs through a feed reader. The pressure! I just couldn’t manage it all. Now I try to be OK with the fact that there’s no way I’ll read every single post my blog friends make…but if I stop by once a month or so and see what they’re up to because that’s all I can manage, that’s OK too. My family and work and face-to-face commitments just have to take highest priority. So, uh…if you don’t hear from me again for a while you know why. But I’ll be back…promise.

    • I try to keep my filters really really neat so I don’t have to worry about missing something important. Every once in a while I go in and just mark EVERYTHING as read because I can’t stomach how bad I’ve fallen behind. I used to visit just main websites, but then I have to save all their URL’s in my bookmarks. I guess my reader is my version of bookmarks :-)

  4. I was wondering why you have been rather quiet :) I know how you feel too.. I haven’t had much time for blog world :( Max is keeping me really busy and also we are moving so we have been drowning in boxes! We won’t have the internet for the next 3 weeks either.. damn phone provider’s connection problems!! Not sure I will be able to survive without internet but I’m sure I’ll too busy unpacking and running after Max to notice we don’t have it.. or at least I’m hoping so! :)
    Good luck in the job hunt… take care!
    Lx

    • Soooo sorry. I kept meaning to stop over and comment, but because yours is one that I almost always comment on, I kept saving your entries till later when I could think. Kinda as backwards sometimes :P

  5. I’m the same at the moment. I cannot keep up. I’m going to have to scale something back I think. Or be more efficient, or something.

    • I’ve been doing a bit of both…some that I’ve always just scanned over and never actually clicked have been removed. Most stayed and got re-filtered. It’s a job in and of itself just to manage all these mini worlds I circulate in. Reminds me soooo much of H.S. LOL.

  6. I hear you!! I try to catch up at night before bed. I am limiting my twitter right now too. I am officially 2 days free of it. I don’t even miss it. It was easier when they were baby blobs right? These are exciting times, where they are turning into personalities. I don’t want to miss it because I won’t get them back, and the bloggers and tweeters wont even remember me 15 years from now. And that is not to say I don’t value my blog friends…oh I do. I’ve just cut my list too. I am pretty sure you get what I am trying to say. ;)

    • I guess you’re feelings on Twitter are kinda like mine on FB. I barely miss it when I don’t update there. It was SOOOOOOOOOOO much easier when they just ate and slept all the time! I was just thinking about how I bitched that I never had the option to go out back then. Now I don’t have the option to stay in ;D

  7. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Zoey Martin, Amber. Amber said: New Blog Post: Prioritizing http://goo.gl/fb/wuZ2R […]

  8. The sign of a good mama! Your beautiful girl comes first, everything else is secondary. I’ve been doing a lot of thinking and some big changes are coming for me too in the area of just really focusing on being a good mom to my two favorite people.

    I know everyone says it and it’s so cliche, but it’s so true that they grow up too fast. I can’t believe Julian is a first grader. Wasn’t he just born? That’s time I won’t be getting back with him, and I’m so glad I was able to be a stay at home mom and pour myself into that role. I want the same for Audrey and appreciate it even more this time around because time really seems to be flying.

    There are a few awesome people I’ve met online (you being one of them!) that I want to stay in touch with, but I’m going to be scarce around here. I’d much rather stare at a beautiful baby than a computer screen.

    • I saw that you have put meepcakes on hold too! So you’re in the same place as me. I’m actually pretty thrilled that most of my online besties are scaling back. We’re all still in love with each other, and in touch, but we’re not online as much. It makes it so much easier knowing we’re all in a similar head space so no one feels jilted!

  9. Lovely lady,
    You do what you need to do! I just had an epic blog overhaul – complete with a purging of my Twitter account and reassessment of what and why I tweet and blog. (hint: it will involve me being MUCH more reciprocal in my commenting and interacting with you because I have purged out all the noise and am down to people I CARE about and have actually connected with through this crazy virtual world). It feels good to realize that I’m never gonna be a dooce or pioneer woman or even barefootfoodie – so why not just keep it to those that I actually enjoy?!?!?

    xoxo Ash

    • Thanks babe! I’m so happy to see your new design with all the daily goodies. LOVE IT!
      BTW, most of my “noise” is gone as well…so I’m all about being me for my real friends <333333


Comments Make Me Smile

Categories

