Posted by: Amber @ NotMommy | June 9, 2010

Diva Cup Giveaway **CLOSED**

Warning – Danger – TMI!
My Very Very First Giveaway Below!

I’m at the end of my 2nd cycle attempting to use the Diva Cup.  For those of you that don’t know what that is, it’s a mentstrul cup used to collect (rather than absorb) period blood.  I’ve always had issues with tampons.  My periods, before the babe, were short and light.  Why oh why don’t they make light tampons anymore?  Anyway, I don’t like pads because of the, ummmm, smell.  I also don’t like feeling as if I’m wearing a diaper and sitting in my own “waste”.  A few years back I had tried to  use the Instead cup, which fits like a diaphram.  Apparenltly my cervical muscles are too jacked, because I would always push it out.  OMG did I just say that?  Yeah :-)  I had heard of menstrul cups a while back, but never tried them.  I just dealt with the ripping sensation of the tampons, because I only had a 2-3 day period.  Since having the babe (and after screwing myself up with an IUD) my periods have been ouchier and heavier.  That first cycle after having the IUD removed was a doozy.  There was no way I was going to be able to deal with tampons for a full week now!

Once my friend Ashely, from BlogALaCart, started talking about her crunchiness and wanting to try the DivaCup, my fascination with the device was re-sparked.   Her first month using the cup turned out to be the same as mine, so I can’t say I wasn’t warned :-)

Last month was a fail fail fail!  There was a little getting to know myself “better” being left with the feeling that I should have romanced myself a bit more, lol!  Then a whole lotta ouch coming out.  Let’s just say, that first day with the cup I was not fun, and I didn’t try to use it again until this month.

This month went a bit better.  The first day “felt” better.  I struck the Captain’s Pose (thanks again Ashley!) and everything was comfy.  Hours later my god was there leakage!  Yeah…like just about everything slipped past the cup and ended up in my granny panties, ugh!  At least I was prepared with a liner.  I was beginning to think my time was up.  I even went to Target and bought another giant box of tampons.

Last night I finally remembered to check out the different folding options online.  There’s a fabulous LiveJournal community dedicated to menstrual cups and they have a few posts with all the different folds.  Today I’m rockin’ out the “7-fold”.  It’s working great, no leaks, not ouchies, in like flynn and whatnot!

Sooooooooo, since I feel like I can be a good representative of the product now that I’m actually able to use it…I would like to offer one of you lucky readers the chance to try it out for yourself.  When I purchased mine, I knew I was going to host a giveaway so I purchased a 2nd.  This was not at all prompted by the lovely people at DivaCup, I’m just trying to share the wealth and spread the word about menstrual cups.  There’s no reason that we ladies need to shred our girlie bits with tampons!

So here’s the details.  I’m using model 2, sized for women over 30 years old and/or for women who have delivered vaginally or by caesarean section.  Since most of my bloggy girls are the same as me (moms) the DivaCup I will be giving away is the same size.

Enter this giveaway 3 ways (please leave a separate comment for each entry):

  1. Leave a comment here telling me why you want to try it
  2. Tweet the giveaway and include @unlikelymama
  3. Subscribe to my feed

Thanks for reading!  I’ll pick a winner on my birthday, June 19th, and post the results!!!!

Responses

  1. I have really been wanting to switch to this when my junk comes back (who knows how long that’ll take since I’m breastfeeding?).

  2. And I stalk…er, follow you through my google reader. I think that’s what it’s called. I’m a computard.

  3. So I follow you on the google reader…cuz I love ya ;)

  4. I have actually wanted to try these for a while because (and here’s TMI for you) my vag is actually still in pretty bad shape since birthing, and tampons cause me a lot of pain where the scars are. My doc actually said I could need a “vag lift” ;) Anyway, I’m just looking for other options than a pad because I feel the same way you do about them. Yick.

  5. I tweeted (http://twitter.com/iwantherlife/status/15823531935)

  6. I’ve been looking into menstrual cups for several months now but didn’t think they sold them in the States. I’m all for less waste for the environment and something different. I just hope it’s actually comfortable.

  7. Just tweeted the giveaway.

  8. I’m now a subscriber! xo

  9. Thanks for bringing attention to menstrual cups and the benfits of using them! Women all over the world are making the switch because of their cost savings, convenience, and sustainability! We would like to offer The DivaWash to your winner! Just send the winner contact details to stacey@divacup.com.

    Best wishes,

    The DivaCup Team

    • What an amazing offer. Thank you! I will be in touch.

  10. so i’m curious, fascinated even… but i still don’t have a cycle. so not sure what to do. i can’t exactly test it out right now, but it’ll come back some day, maybe? oh wait, just remembered you aren’t supposed to use these with an IUD. BUT I’M SO CURIOUS!

    glad to read your thoughts on it.

  11. Last year I made the giant leap form Paper pads to cloth pads. I liked it but Im looking for something a little cleaner for the environment (no machne washing at all). I read about the Divacup online and decided that it was something that seemed totally awesome for me! I would love to give it a try

    Tina from AZ

  12. I was JUST looking at those a couple of days ago. No fooling. I have a really heavy period that lasts for up to a week, so you can imagine the money I spend on tampons and such. Periods just all around suck. I’ve read reviews of the Diva Cup before but they were very glowy, and didn’t feel *real*, you know? Glad to get an honest perspective!

  13. “@unlikelymama Just used my @DivaCup for the 2nd time, but 1st full round. Would love an extra one to give to a friend. Enjoyed your blog!”

    Sorry, didn’t realize it had to be posted here. ;) I’m convincing a friend/coworker to try this out to see if it helps her w/ her issues. I’ve already crocheted a little uterus holder for it, in case we win!

    Thanks!

    Sheila

  14. I would love to try one of these. I hate using disposable tampons and pads. I really want a much “greener” option.

  15. I subscribe to your blog.

  16. I HATE pads, but that’s all that has ever even remotely worked for me. I’ve tried other options, but to no avail. The DivaCup sounds amazing and like the answer to my prayers… you’ve hit the nail on the head with uncomfortable, annoying and long mentrual cycles. Ugh!
    In finishing up a YEAR of nursing my almost one-year-old (hooray, june 18th bday) and deserve to go back into Menstrual Cycle time armed with the right equipment. Help me!
    I already follow you-
    BTW- I tagged you on my blog… check it out http://www.mashugamom.com

  17. I’m a little scared of it…and I’ve never heard of it…What will I do if I win:O

  18. I would like to try one out. I have just started using cloth pads again. I have always hated tampons, I just couldn’t get past putting something chemically into yourself for so long. I would love to give the diva cup a try.

  19. I now subscribe!!!

    • Jaime, you’re the lucky winner! Congrats. And thank you to all who entered.

  20. Well this is what happens, when I stay away from blogs and twitter for a week, I missed this.
    Wow I didn’t even know these exist! I would have totally entered because now I am curious! You learn something new everyday!


Comments Make Me Smile

Categories

