Posted by: Amber @ NotMommy | April 19, 2010

Night Weaning

In case you haven’t noticed, I going to point something out.  I haven’t been posting very much lately.  Two measly entries all month.  Sad sad.  Here’s the thing, I’m exhausted… like, thoroughly exhausted.  The kind of tired I was back when we first brought Alexa home.  I’ve actually been taking naps with Alexa lately.  Not because I want to, or because she needs me there, but because I’ll try to nurse her before she goes to sleep…and I fall asleep by accident.  Opps!

The reason for all of this is because we’ve started the process of night weaning.  Alexa tends to want to nurse allllllll night long.  I know some people are fine with it, but honestly, my boobies hurt and I can’t sleep propped up any longer.  I’ve spent the last year teetering on my side so she could snack while I slept.  Yes, I’m sure I got more sleep overall than most people in their first year, but it was NOT quality.

It became fairly obvious that Alexa wasn’t all that hungry at night.  The reason I realized this was because on nights when Peter takes her, she never eats.  He’ll give her a bottle (coconut milk these days), and she’ll take maybe an ounce.  On nights when I have her, at least for the past month, she’ll nurse on and off all night…but fuss fuss fuss.  Before she would nurse, but she would lay still and sleep well.  Now she squirms and rolls away, cries, roots, nurses, repeat…

Soooooooooo now we still put her down for the first part of the night in her crib, she wakes around 12:30 or so, and I go to bed and nurse her till she falls back to sleep.  Then, when she wakes I pat/hum/rub/shhhh her back to sleep.  Sounds simple enough, but she’s not sleeping soundly.  Some nights she’ll cry for an hour or more.  I’m right there trying to soothe her, and she’ll have none of it!  We try every sleeping position imaginable.  Sometimes she lays in the crook of my arm like she did when she was a newborn.  Sometimes she wants to sleep on her stomach with my hand on her back.  Sometimes she wants me nowhere near her.  Sometimes she wants to sleep on my chest (not at all as comfy as when she was just 6lbs! haha).

All these things are making nights harder.  Which, in turn, makes my days harder.  The good news is, she is sleeping for longer chunks of time once she settles.  Sometimes 4 hours or more.  What makes things even better, is that she will sleep for Peter too now.  Meaning, on weekends I can sleep alone and he takes over!  BLISS.

Now I just have to get used to not being needed all night so I can actually relax.

Responses

  1. I wrote about doing some night weaning not so long ago because I was having the exact same problem. It took me a week or more of that sad wake up pattern before things calmed down a bit. I know you pain! Be patient with it, it will get easier.
    .-= Jamie (the grumbles´s last blog ..a collection of random thoughts =-.

    • Would you mind linking me to your post? I keep forgetting to look it up, and I bet I’ll forget to do it again after I leave this comment :P

      Our vacation screwed it all up…I knew there was a chance we were starting something that would have to be redone since we were going away. Ah well…this weekend we’ll try again.

  2. I’m exhausted just reading your post!!! I hope it all goes well :)
    .-= Lx´s last blog ..Manic Monday =-.

    • It was going well kinda sorta, but our trip brought us back to day one. This weekend we’ll start over. Peter’s doing it though. I need a couple of nights rest ALONE after having a baby on me all night for the last week :-)

  3. […] was a weird day.  Alexa has been night weaning and teething.  Fun times.  She was in rare form today.  I could use a nap!  We didn’t do […]

  4. You poor thing! Trust me, it will get better! you won’t know yourself once you get some proper sleep ;-)
    .-= Zoey @ Good Goog´s last blog ..I Have a Spatula . . . =-.

    • I cannot wait to feel human again. Someday! How did you wean Riley?

  5. when we night weaned my son my hubby went in to rock/rub his back. If I went in there it only made in worse because he knew I could give him what he wanted, but hubby couldn’t. Hope it’s going well for you!
    .-= Alexandra´s last blog ..Who should breastfeed? =-.

    • That would be lovely, but she’s still sleeping with me…haha! Maybe someday we’ll get her to sleep all night in her crib, but for now, not dice. Our vacation last week effed everything up so we have to, basically, start over now :-(


Comments Make Me Smile

Categories

