Posted by: Amber @ NotMommy | March 16, 2010

Cribs Yo

I truly wish I loved co-sleeping.  It served a very real purpose for us for a long while…but it has since outlived its usefulness.  Well, not really, but it’s outlived my love for it.

About a month ago we started easing Alexa into a new routine where she learned to fall asleep on her own.  We’ve been using something like the No Cry Sleep Solution.  She’s done amazingly well.  She now (usually) falls to sleep in under 10 minutes with very few, or NO, tears.  Fab-U-Lous!

This past week we’ve been using her crib.  We had started in bed (well a mattress on her floor), then I moved further away, then we tried the crib.  That big, expensive, piece of furniture that had since just been a decorative item in her nursery.  It’s worked out so very well.*

She sleeps in it for naps and for the first part of the night.  Yeah, she still doesn’t “sleep through the night”.  Hmmmmm.  Usually we get about 3 or 4 hours of straight sleep, then she wakes and wants a bottle of “milk” (soy or rice).  Peter started giving her one a while back (used to be formula) and she’s gotten used to it.  Not really sure that she NEEDS it, but…habits are hard to break.

Here’s where co-sleeping comes back in.  Instead of putting her back in her crib after her night feeding and diaper change, she comes back to sleep with me.  Still on the floor in her nursery.  I really really really really want to sleep alone!  I really really really really want to sleep in MY room!  I think Peter might actually want to sleep next to me, lol.

Now, I wish I loved having her next to me all night.  Sometimes I do, but some nights I want to curl up and cry because she WILL NOT GET OFF MY BOOB.   Dude, they still get sore!  I wish we could do the “family bed”, but pretty much since she was 4 months old I’ve slept with her, and Peter has slept alone (he might be lonely, but my gawd am I jealous).

So I think, SOON VERY SOON, we will start trying to put her back in her crib after that nightly bottle.  I will try to sleep in my (wait, our?) room so she doesn’t smell/feel/hear/sense me.  Maybe then, just MAYBE, she’ll start sleeping through?

*I still feel weird seeing her laying there all alone her little baby jail

Responses

  1. Yay that’s great that Alexa can fall asleep on her own now!! I have my fingers crossed for you and hope you get to sleep in your own bed with Peter soon :)
    .-= Lx´s last blog ..Another tooth!! =-.

    • And of course…as soon as I posted this last night she woke up and slept like crap allll night :P

  2. […] don’t HAVE to have one.  Though…it would be nice since she’s FINALLY learning to sleep in her crib.  Oh, and what if we want to hire an in-room sitter?  Will the hotel provide this service?  Some […]

  3. Habits are so so hard to break. With my first, I was all, “You, there! Sleep through he night, sir. Starting…now!” And he cried it out. Cold turkey. No more night feedings. No more rocking to sleep. It sucked. For about 10 days. Now he’s 4 and has slept like a champ ever since. My second is whole other story. That kid is 2 and still can’t be pried of off me. (Is it bad that I kinda like that?) He mostly sleeps through the night at this point. We even transitioned him to a toddler bed at about 20 months. But the cry it out thing? Did. Not. Work. At. All. Different strokes for different small humans, I guess. Or, I became real soft in my old age…
    .-= Kami´s last blog ..So Much More Than a Mommy Blogger =-.

    • I didn’t have the ability to sleep train. But…Alexa being a preemie and having reflux made it all but impossible. That, and I’m a softy who wanted to hold her ALL the time :-)
      We did attempt a few days of Ferber, but nope…

      That said, I didn’t sleep through, ummm…ever? I still don’t. Though, I stopped needing help going back to sleep at around a year old. My brother, on the other hand, now sleeps like he’s dead, and was able to sleep through at like 12 weeks. Guess my little girl is turning out like me :P

  4. I am in awe of you, and everyone else who is dealing with kids who don’t sleep, or don’t sleep alone. I don’t know how you get up and function during the day. I hope this resolves soon, and you can get some snuggles with your hubby!
    .-= Carla´s last blog ..Art Class =-.

    • I really liked co-sleeping for a long time. It’s just that now Alexa doesn’t sleep well next to me, and that means neither do I. I really don’t mind sleeping away from Peter. He’s one of those people who functions on NO sleep. He’s always stayed up till all hours of the night tinkering with his computer projects, so I’m used to sleeping alone. Actually…I miss sleeping alone!

  5. I couldn’t do the CIO… so I’ve spend about a week doing a lot of put her down in the crib, she will start crying, I pick her up, calm her down, put her back down, rub her back until she starts crying…repeat. The first night I did it 23 times before she fell asleep, the next 15, the night after that 20 and by day 7 none. My diet for that week was pretty much RedBull, but it was worth it, because now? She LOVES her baby jail. She literally goes to her crib and asks to be put in it when she is tired… I do a happy dance every night and it never gets old. Good luck…
    .-= mrs.notouching´s last blog ..The Gift of Selective Hearing =-.

    • How old was your daughter when you started? We sorta kinda tried Ferber when Alexa was 8 months or so. I couldn’t do it. We were desperate at the time, but in the end…it just wasn’t worth it to even do controlled crying. Did you co-sleep before she started using her crib?

  6. Good luck, pal. We are sort-of going through the same thing. We have co-slept from the beginning, and it’s what works when you breastfeed. But, yeah, I’m with you, I’d LOVE to sleep deeply next to John and not have to worry about blankets over babies heads and moving people and pillows around ‘just so’ for this little lovely baby of mine. This past weekend we took the unused crib down because I was sick of the space it was taking up. I’m hoping to start a transition into a regular twin bed with a guard rail when he gets a little older. We’ll see how that goes. All my other attempts to separate him from me at night have failed! :)

    • I’ve haven’t been worried about blankets and pillows so much…I just can’t sleep comfortably propped up on my side since Alexa likes to nurse throughout the night. It’s actually been worse now that she’s on “milk” because she doesn’t seem to drink enough during the day and tries to make up for it at night.

      I guess it’s similar to how some babies react when they’re mothers go back to work and they can’t nurse during the day. Even though I offer her plenty of boob time all day, she wants to comfort nurse at night to make up for all the time she spends distracted while she plays :-)

      For now this works though. We’ll see how things progress in the coming weeks. We’re planning on trying to put her back down in the crib all night this coming weekend. **fingers crossed**
      .-= Amber´s last blog ..Cribs Yo =-.

  7. The first time we put Riley in the toddler bed it was in our room – you could always try temporarily moving the cot into your room until she’s used to going back to sleep in it and then move it back into her room.
    .-= Zoey @ Good Goog´s last blog ..The Non Comformist =-.

    • I’m just going to stay sleeping on the mattress on her floor while we work on things. Peter comes to bed too late and would wake her if we had her back in our room. Plus, she’s already used to sleeping in her room. If we didn’t have room for our current set up, I would no doubt use your suggestion :-)

      • It’s so hard to work out what works for them. As I realised a couple of days ago – the simple act of leaving the door slightly open was enough for Riley to go to sleep on her own with no back and forth. I’m sure you’ll find something that works for Alexa.
        .-= Zoey @ Good Goog´s last blog ..The Non Comformist =-.

        • I read that! Something soooo simple to us, and yet so important to them!


Comments Make Me Smile

Categories

