Posted by: Amber @ NotMommy | March 7, 2010

Purging

Today was the day. The day that I FINALLY got things in order to sell sell sell! I’m participating in a local consignment sale for baby items. I am NOT saving them. For one, I’m done having babies. For two, I cannot stand to keep stuff we’re not using.

It’s been a pretty big undertaking, as we have EVERYTHING Alexa has worn, owned, used since day one. I would have sold things last fall, but learned of the sale while it was going on, too late to join in. I’ve since been collecting things she’s outgrown, or doesn’t like to play with, for months now. The pile got pretty big and has been mocking me.

Tonight I broke down and took the few hours I needed to log everything into their online tagging system. It’s super easy to use, just takes time…something I don’t always have much of! Well, almost everything has been entered. If everything we sell is actually purchased, we’ll make upwards of $500 or more! Sweet! And an even sweeter part of the deal is that I get to shop again. I love me some gently used baby swag :-)

I still have to get supplies to prepare the items for sale. Everything has to be hung on wire hanger, GASP, tagged, and then dropped off for inspection. Which reminds me, I still need to decide on a dropoff time and sign up! Next Sunday I suppose. I cannot, repeat CANNOT wait to get all this STUFF out of my house!

You see, I’m a firm believer in “If you don’t need it, love it, use it…then don’t keep it”. There are so many ways to part with your belongings that don’t feel like you’re just throwing them away. Sell them on Ebay (or consignment) and make back some of that hard earned cash you spent, or hell, have a yard sale! Donate your things to a friend or to charity. You can hold your own topic specific swap meetup with friends! If you haven’t used the item, feel free to regift it (just try not to give it back to the person who gifted it to you, HA). If all else fails, sometimes you have to let go and just deal with the fact that some things are indeed trash (will you ever REALLY get those shoes fixed, that sweater sewn, that stain removed?).

What are you planning on parting with?  Do you enjoy purging or does it make you feel queasy?

Responses

  1. I *love* purging. We’re in the middle of reorganizing our house, and we donated over 300 books, and it felt soooo good. I’m always looking to get rid of more, but with a toddler and a baby on the way, it seems like we’re just accumulating more…
    .-= Carla´s last blog ..Here Comes the Sun =-.

    • These days, I feel like I’m just moving STUFF from one room to another, rather than actually purging. I did sell off about half of the old baby stuff, but all that’s left over has taken up base camp on my dining room table :-/

  2. This is a good summary, I was wondering if I could use this piece of content on my website, I will link it back to your website though. If this is a problem please let me know and I will take it down right away.

    • Where is it linked?

  3. This is a very useful post, I was looking for this info. Just so you know I discovered your web site when I was searching for blogs like mine, so please check out my site sometime and leave me a comment to let me know what you think.


Comments Make Me Smile

Categories

