Posted by: Amber @ NotMommy | February 23, 2010

The Babe Turns ONE

Dear Alexa,

I cannot believe it’s been a year already!  My life has changed so much since you came into it.  I’ve learned patience, unconditional love, empathy…all the things everyone tells you…but you just can’t know until (if) you become a mother.

While I still think of you in terms of your due date (April 30th), you are indeed a one year old.  My lovely daughter has been on this planet for 365 days…wow.  You have changed immensely.  When you first graced us with your presence you were a wee 3.5lbs and now you’re rough 18lbs.  Wow, think about that.  Almost 6x’s the size of when you were born.  Crazy!

This year has been tired, amazing, exhausting, blissful…every emotion that exists has been felt (by both of us I’m sure).  We’re finally in sync and I love it.

You are certainly a crowd pleaser.  Everyone comments on how you light up a room with your beautiful, and expressive, face.  You are loved by a huge group of family and close friends.

I love you with all of my heart and can’t wait to get to know you even better.  

Love,
Mama

Responses

  1. happiest of birthdays to my favorite beautiful babe! you are a lovely little being, and your presence does indeed bring sunshine everywhere you go. happy first year of life, and many more lovely ones to follow. cheers, darling! xoxo.

  2. Happy Birthday, Alexa!!

  3. I love you girls and I'm so happy that Alexa came in to your life, you're both very lucky. :) Happy Birthday, little one.

  4. Awww… what a beautiful letter :)I'm so happy for you guys!!

  5. Happy birthday Alexa and well done Amber for survivig the first year.

  6. So sweet!!! I have a bay girl and she is 17 months and I know what you mean about the time going so fast! Alexa is such a beautiful name, too. :)

  7. @Emily – Sunshine indeed! Thank you.@Allison – Looks like little Butterfinger didn't want to share a birthday :-( HEHE@Niblet – Love you too! Miss you, sorry about my now defunct LJ. @Lx – Thank you, it's been an amazing year.@Keepingmumsane – HAHA…surviving is what I thought too!!@Theta Mom – Her name is actually Alexandra, but we chose Alexa as her nickname. She was originally Lexie…we can't make up our minds :PThank you for the birthday wishes…it does go too fast!

  8. Awww…Happy Birthday Alexa!

    • Thank you!  I’m still in shock that it’s been a year already!

  9. Happy birthday Alexa! I am following!http://thepursuitofmommyness.com/

    • Why thank you lady!

  10. Yay! Happy Birthday, Alexa! Isn’t it amazing how fast it goes by? Here’s to many, many more healthy, happy years.
    .-= Carla´s last blog ..The Power of Two =-.

    • Thank you :-) It certainly is amazing how fast.
      I can’t believe I’ve been a mother for over a year now!

  11. crying. I am crying. gee, thanks.

    • Awww I didn’t think it was that sappy :-)


Comments Make Me Smile

Categories

