Posted by: Amber @ NotMommy | January 2, 2010

No More Babies

I’ve been putting it off for 10 months, but last month I FINALLY went in for my 6 week checkup (ya know…the one you’re supposed to have 6 weeks after you give birth).

When Alexa was born she was delivered via emergency c-section 10 weeks early. Because of this, I had to be seen by a doctor that was not my own. I was supposed to use a birthing center in Brooklyn (I live in NJ). I didn’t have an OB/GYN near me…but couldn’t make the hour drive to NY under the circumstances.

After the surgery, I called my midwives to tell them what happened (I had been in contact with them before we headed off to the ER so they know something was wrong). I was made to feel guilty for having a c-section, and decided that I would NOT be going back there for any further treatment.

In the hospital I was seen by a group that I did not care for. I had to see them once more soon after the delivery for some blood work due to my low breast milk supply. They were not warm or friendly, and treated me like a charity case even though I have perfectly good insurance.

Because of this I opted not to have a regular checkup when you’re supposed to.

I knew I wanted to get an IUD before the end of the year, so I finally bit the bullet and went in for a checkup with my old OB/GYN office. It was just easier than finding a brand new practice to deal with with such short notice.

It was a pleasant surprise when I was able to meet with a new doctor in the practice. This one was a woman and had just came back from maternity leave herself. She was lovely and patient. That first exam was a doozy. Apparently breastfeeding can make your lady parts overly sensitive. Yeah, not a fun visit.

After that appointment I was terrified of how painful the IUD insertion would be. I guess I was right to be scared. Last week I went in for the “procedure”. They actually asked me if I wanted to come back after I got my first period because things will be more elastic (who knows when that will be…and I wanted to get it done ASAP to take advantage of the fact that I had met my deductible for the year!). I told her no…that I would shut up and take the pain. LOL. They had to get a different “instrument” to proceed.

Yeah, it hurt like a bitch, but it’s over. In another week I’ll be considered healed….and then…M.A.Y.B.E. I’ll have sex again :P At least I know that I’m covered for 5 years….so no accidental babies (well there’s a 1% failure rate, so I’m pretty sure there will be no babies!).

Responses

  1. @Kami, I'm not sure how I missed your comment on this post before. SORRY!!! Glad I could be of assistance (and then again on Twitter :-)

  2. […] I’m participating in a local consignment sale for baby items. I am NOT saving them. For one, I’m done having babies. For two, I cannot stand to keep stuff we’re not […]

  3. […] been spotting since day one.  I actually thought I got my period back in January.  But I guess that was just the IUD settling […]

  4. […] I’m participating in a local consignment sale for baby items. I am NOT saving them. For one, I’m done having babies. For two, I cannot stand to keep stuff we’re not […]


Comments Make Me Smile

Categories

